SGH on Facebook

August 8, 2008 at 5:53 pm 98 comments

To visit or join St. George’s Home for Boys Facebook Community, follow this link or use this url: https://www.facebook.com/groups/18098029370/

Entry filed under: Old Boys, Reunions, Saint George's Home for Boys, SGH, SGH on Facebook, St. George's Home for Boys. Tags: .

Photo Tour: Saint George’s in 2007

98 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica van der Werff  |  September 5, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    My late brother was a St G. boy for some years during the 1940’s. I have several old photos of choir, boxing club, and the bugle band as well as class photo for the boys who attended Jeppe Boys High. All have names. I remember as a kid visiting him at school all those years ago.
    Anyone want copies??
    cheers
    Erica
    Auckland
    New Zealand

    Reply
    • 2. Reinier Kuijer  |  August 17, 2011 at 8:35 am

      Hello Erica,

      Please can you contact us Nedlloyd Pension Fund, Rotterdam Netherlands if your full name is Erica Joyce Poultney Longworth-van der Werff born on 24-08-1934!

      Regards,
      Reinier kuijer
      mailto:Reinier.Kuijer@nedlloyd.com

      Reply
  • 3. D.C. Leslie-Pringle  |  September 6, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Hi Erica,

    By pure chance I noticed that you had addressed a message to me via Facebook. John Rossouw is compiling such a photographic record in conjunction with George Adam’s book on SGBH.

    I am sure he would love to have your photos and if I may suggest, would you please re-post your message on the main blog page of the SGBH directly to him. He is currently in Saudi Arabia on business I understand from his last blog posting abnd will doubtless be back shortly. In the meantime he remain on line and will certainly erespond to you.

    Wonderful that you have those photos after all those years. I’m sure the general readership of the blog will be delighted to hear any stories you might be able to tell of that long past experience of your brother.

    Sincer regards,

    Dudley Pringle (SGBH: 1955 to 1959).

    Reply
  • 4. Erica van der Werff  |  September 9, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Hello Dudley, John et al,
    Not too sure who is who and how many little pathways exist on the St George site.
    Blane contacted me by email, so sent him all the photos that I had, and he already has them on the site, complete with names.
    I still have some little snap shots of the brother when he came home for weeknds or school holidays? When I looked at the photos of the groups, all those boys are now in their late 70’s 80’s and maybe even 90’s, and wonder if any of them are still alive?? This is where you will find the pictures.

    SGH in the 40’s: John Charles Longworth remembered

    Hope you get to see them, if not let me know (email) and I will resend.

    cheers
    Erica van der Werff (John’s sister)
    Auckland
    New Zealand

    Reply
  • 5. D.C. Leslie-Pringle  |  September 19, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Hello Erica,

    Thank you for your gift to all of us. I am just one of the ex-homeboys, who stumbled on this site and blog by nostalgic accident. I have been communicating my memories there for the past several months and have been watching as others have joined in with great pleasure.

    Your brother, God rest his soul, was one of us, though some 10 years ahead of me. I don’t know if you have been reading the blog, but by pure chance, I recently wrote one of my stories which entailed my first boxing tournament, and as one of your photos is of the boxing team, I must presume that your brother was a boxer … so I feel a connection to his mermory.

    I don’t know how many pathways there are on the site either, but I am writing this on the SGBH Facebook blog, not the main site.

    I trust you and yours are both well in health & spirit and are enjoying life downunder.

    Sincerely,

    Dudley Pringle.

    Reply
  • 6. Erica van der Werff  |  September 20, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Hello Dudley,
    I don’t ever remember John being a ‘boxer, or that he is even on the photo of the boxers. Maybe Craig can tell you that in his stories he heard from his dad. One day soon, I hope to put together the memories I have of my ‘boetie’ when he was at St G’s. I can almost taste those oat cookies that were baked to take to him on visiting days’ I do vividly remember him as a drummer in the band! and the spats over the polished shoes.
    Spring has sprung here in Auckland and nice to see the back end of all the rain.
    Cheerie
    Erica

    Reply
  • 7. Frank Kruger / Mahlfeld  |  October 8, 2008 at 8:02 am

    I was taught in the band by John and Dave ended up winning several trophies for trumpeting in individul series because of this

    thank you

    031 7017864 031 7017444

    Reply
  • 8. Jeffrey Rendulic/Hackett  |  November 24, 2008 at 3:39 am

    I was in SGHB from 1965-1969 in Simpson House I was sent over from Johannesburg Childrens Home talk about calling back the past

    Reply
  • 9. Anonymous  |  December 12, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Well I have read through a lot of history and for the best part of my memory of SGH is bad. Not so much in the seniour section as in the jun section. The section was much “better than my experiences in the juniour section.

    Just to paint one of many pictures that comes to mind. The year is 1973. It is the 6/10/1973 . I am 11 years old. The house master is conducting inspection before we, that is the house, move off to school. I am relatively “safe” as it is my 11 birthday and am not likely to receive any “punishment” for what ever reason . That being socks not pulled up correctly enough or whatever reason to be thought out ,one never knew the new reason. Just before we are given the go ahead to leave for school I am singled out and called the the front of the common room for what I can only imagine is perhaps a happy birthday sing along.

    Oh how wrong I was. The house master then proceeds to give me a “chinese” bangle. Now for those who do not know what this is it is when the fingers of both hands are wrapped around the wrists of the “victim’s” tightly and then forced abruptly in opposite directions. This happens for a couple of minutes,after which time the skin on the wrists go numb. After the initial time of about a minute goes past the “feeling” in your wrist goes away. However on seeing that this treatment is not having the “desired” effect the house master decides it is now time to go in the opposite direction. This is very very painful and tears appear in my eyes. All the time I ask myself WHY?? what for?? what did I do wrong. It is my birthday after all. What is this so called care giver doing and for what reason. All I ever asked for was just treat me fairly. I know that I must be grateful for what I receive but this does not seem to me even remotely fair not to be grateful for. Why Why Why ??? Is this because you could ??

    Reply
    • 10. Blane  |  December 15, 2008 at 9:45 pm

      Hello Anonymous:

      Thanks for your comment and for sharing what is clearly a difficult memory for you. It’s hard to understand why your Housemaster would do such a thing – and especially on your birthday. In this day and age what happened to you would be considered abusive – and the memory of this event has stuck with you all these years. Thanks for talking about it. Sharing your story is helpful for others who are trying to make sense of their own experiences.

      Reply
  • 11. Anonymous  |  December 17, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Why he did such a thing ?Probably because he could. As to helping others well that I don’t know about that. Gave up trying to make sense of a lot of the things that happened. I don’t care in what day and age these kinds of things happened it was and still remains abuse.

    Reply
  • 12. Anonymous  |  December 18, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    You are so right about it being abusive….and yet
    In sharing…light is shed on what
    some may perceive has been a dark and lonely path
    only to then have a door opened to the experience
    of another…..and so bring clarity that it had nothing
    to do with who you/they are; but who you/they can be as
    the path passes through the dark tunnel and out into
    the light……………….the power of the abuse is lost in truth and light!!

    Reply
  • 13. Anon  |  December 27, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    I was a witness to the cruelty that [he] inflicted on many of the boys in his ´care´. I detested him for it and still do.

    Reply
  • 14. Anonymous  |  December 30, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    LETTING GO OF THAT MEMORY WILL FREE YOU UP AND DISEMPOWER HIM…..DON’T ALLOW HIM TO STILL CONTROL YOUR EMOTIONS…………..NOT FORGETTING WHAT’S DONE; BUT NOT ALLOWING IT ANY PLACE OF DOMINANCE IN YOUR LIFE!!…HATE EMBITTERS OUR LIVES……………I PRAY YOU ARE ABLE TO MOVE ON, HOLD ONTO THE TRUTH WITHOUT THE BARBS

    Reply
  • 15. Manuel Joao Simoes  |  February 25, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Good day all. It has been a long time since I have been on the site. Had some draw backs but I am working to sort them out. Wendy I seem to have lost your email address please could you forward it to me. Went to the home today and looked up on my file. This turned out to be quite interesting. Especially in the way perceptions differ amongst people. I took the advise of going to Coach House to look up the hosts I had while in Simpson and low and behold the names were only mentioned once. Can anybody give an idea of how to locate them otherwise??

    Reply
  • 16. Wendy Thompson/Jones  |  February 26, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Hi Joao my email address is: palmoil@telkomsa.net Glad to see you back on the blog.

    Reply
  • 17. john rossouw  |  March 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Hi Joey
    A lot of the host families came via Jeff and Jean Bill as well as Herb Thompson so perhaps Wendy may be able to jog Herb’s memory otherwise she may be able to put you in touch with Jenny Bill (Jeffs daughter) who may well remember
    Glad you got to see your file as they do make for interesting reading

    Reply
  • 18. Manuel Joao Simoes  |  March 3, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Hi John

    Yes the files do make for some very interesting reading all be it upsetting. This in the sense that they are not complete and this leads to the raising of even more questions than answers. I have sent Wendy a mail in this regard and she seems either not to get my mail or does not know. I requested she speak to Herb but to no avail. I would love to speak to Herb Thompson in person to try and fathom what happened all those years ago especially after some of the incidental reports I read penned by him. Also fascinating is the fact that there is only one or two reports. This is strange given the fact that I was in SGH for quite a while. Also missing was any kind of report relating to the discipline record. This I find unusual. Incidents that I clearly remember and by my judgment would definatly be on my file.

    On a different note how can I get in contact with Jenny Bill as I am very interested in finding my hosts particularly the Matthews family ?? . They lived in Benoni at the time and had 4 kids of their own.

    Reply
  • 19. Peter De R.  |  April 1, 2009 at 7:19 am

    So good reading of the guy’s past experiences…during my years in goggies ..1948/ 1955…times were hard and fair, how’s the saying ?..” If one couldn’t stand the heat , leave the kitchen”….I loved evert day of my 8 year stay, some many stories to relate , dont know where to start but that I will., masters such as ..’Jacko’Short, ‘Flossy’ capener, ‘Burny’ Moss, ‘Robby’ Robson, ‘Boet’ Symes, Ken Mc Holm…..guys of whome I had so much respect for, taught me so much. Hey!!!.. which of you guys remember ”Kaff…r Jones [ relief housemaster] what a disciplinarian..could surely swing that stick,[ OUCH ]. ..I tell you what,, Will get my old 70year old brain in working order and ASAP

    Reply
    • 20. Mike Buckley  |  March 7, 2015 at 12:19 pm

      Hey Peter love your post I agree I had a great and yes some scary times at the home and can relate to the masters u mentioned. We would stand up for ourselves not lie down and cry .

      Reply
  • 21. Peter De R.  |  April 1, 2009 at 7:26 am

    contd. will send some good , good tales. as is said here downunder..”.Good on ya.”

    Reply
  • 22. Anonymous  |  April 8, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    The comments above only speak in tones of good memories let me tell you this was the bare minimum of cases. All of my years at SGH (8 years in all) as it is so lovingly referred to, were hell and all I wish to do is one of two things ,1) beat the hell out of the house master who took great delight in doing the exact thing to me at every opportunity he got or,2) just forget about it. For some or other reason I cannot choose between the two.

    I was sent to hosts and low and behold the husband was trying his best to have his way with me. It took all my efforts to keep out of arms length when his wife and kids were not around. Had a choice either keep out of the mans reach or stay at the home and risk a thrashing. Say anything to the house master and you would be deemed ungrateful and a liar and get thrashed. What is so great about that I ask??

    I would further like to ask nay let me say demand from the house master Mr Herb Thompson, What the hell did you do with my watch that you confiscated from me in 1974 for the simple reason that I left in the bathroom section while taking a shower. I still do not have it back in spite of my offer at the end of 1975 to take 6 of your best just to retrieve it??

    I must leave now before I get upset all over again.

    Reply
  • 23. Peter de Reuck  |  April 17, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Hi Erica…never met ..but how are you?….looking at the photos of the boxing club and band of 1947 sure brings back memories, after so many years I dont recognise many of the faces but one that surely stands out is Peter Harper…couch of the boxing club. Peter was my house master in Simpson house until his very sad demise. I was couched in the ‘pugilistic’ arts by Peter for a while followed by Laurie Stevans..on leaving S.G.H. in 1955 I joined the Malvern boxing club onto Jeppi club then moved to natal… Erica do you have any old photos between the years ..1948// 1955. would appreciate a glance.at any available. Gosh the years surely roll by.,, I now reside in Queensland , Australia. Do keep well and God bless.

    Reply
  • 24. Donald Viljoen  |  June 11, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    1976-1985

    Hi there,

    Can anyone explain why, we had to wear short pants in junior section during winter? still remember the long walks to Wychwood Primary School. Now that was hell….! Is David Kelly out there some where I would like to make contact with him.

    Many thanks

    Donald Viljoen
    0761037116

    Reply
  • 25. HEATHER MCHOLM  |  June 22, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Hi there all the old St. Georges Boys.

    I have suddenly picked up on this web site which was a lovely surprise.

    I think we all know Joan Harper of Spackman House. Well she is staying with me for a holiday at the moment from Scotland and you will not believe this but she is 86 and still going very strong.

    The photo’s are outstanding and bring a lot of happy memories back. As all you old boys know that David and I grew up at St. Georges and had 250 brothers that we had to share with. This was a very unusual up bringing but it made us both better people.

    Please contact me if any of you have questions.

    Kind Regards

    Heather

    Reply
    • 26. Donald Sanderson-Smith 1946-1951  |  September 26, 2012 at 10:57 am

      Hi Heather,you dont know me but i knew your Dad.I do remember Joan and of course your mother.Where are you living? I stay in Durban. Donald Sanderson-Smith.(I was known as Shorty,being the smallest boy at the Home at that time)

      Reply
    • 27. Walter Botes  |  October 8, 2013 at 9:12 am

      Hi Heather, I remember you, David your mom and dad very well. I am Walter Botes, I was in Simpson House from 1968 and ended in 1972 in Crawford. My brother is Boots, and younger brother Mark. Please phone me 0826060914. Heard you lost your Mom and Dad. One a old home boy gathering, when your mom could not see any more, I spoke and she recognized my voice and called my name. I was so pleased. my mail address wabotes@yahoo.com. Regards

      Reply
    • 28. Malcolm Hall  |  September 5, 2014 at 2:54 am

      I will never forget Miss Harper. She was my house mother from 1980 to 84. Her kindness made a deep impact on my life. If she is still around please tell her i say thank you.

      Reply
      • 29. Walter Athol Botes  |  September 5, 2014 at 8:41 am

        Hi all, I am Walter Botes, brother of Boots, Andrew, and Mark, We where there from 1968 until 1972. Mark has passed on a few years ago. We live on the west rand. Believe Father Richardson is still going strong. I see Rolf Meier now and then. Jeff Hunter is in New Zealand. I am CEO, Principal, of Central Johannesburg College, so if anyone remembers me, please come visit me at the College. My office is on the Park town Campus. I remember Heather Mc Holm.
        Regards

      • 30. walter athol botes  |  September 5, 2014 at 8:44 am

        Hi Heather,

        I am Walter Botes. Can you remember me?

        Regards

    • 31. Mike Buckley  |  March 7, 2015 at 12:26 pm

      Hi There Heather A fond memory, receiving a tie from your mom, for what she described a s a heroic deed pulling young David out the deep end.

      Reply
    • 32. Tony Peyper  |  November 6, 2018 at 7:37 pm

      Hi Heathet nice to see you are stil going strong. Pkease contact me via email or Whatsapp 0836870834. Greetings Tony

      Reply
  • 33. John Rossouw  |  June 23, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Hey Heather
    The wonderful thing about the internet is that you never know who pops up
    Glad to know that you and the family are well and that Joan is still going strong
    Please pass on my regards to her and ask her if she reme,bers the cooking classes in her flat in Beaton House where she taught us how to make trifle pudding with “real sherry”
    Please try and convince David to join the site as well as it would be great to keeo in touch
    No doubt his girls are all grown up now as well
    Regards and keep in touch
    John
    PS check out the old boys blog on the internet which Blane von Pletzen set up as some of the stories will bring back even more memories

    Reply
  • 34. Wendy Thiompson/Jones  |  June 23, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Hi Heather

    It has been a long time but it is good to see you posting here. Would love to make contact with you. You can reach my on email at palmoil@telkomsa.net
    Regards
    Wendy

    Reply
  • 35. Peter de Reuck  |  June 23, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Hi Heather ..How are you?…I am an old boy from way back..1948/ 1955….do remember Joan and late husband Peter when I was resident in Simpson house ie. 1948 to 51, then over to Beaton. I remember your father as being the relief house master..also..the weddings of Peter and Joan and your Dad and mom in the home chapel…Wow that was ages ago. Heather do keep well and God bless. Bye for now ..Peter.

    Reply
    • 36. d h dereuck  |  February 9, 2011 at 2:28 am

      are you family contact me,
      douglas

      Reply
  • 37. Blane  |  June 24, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Heather: I had hoped that you would find this site and check in! And here you are! Really good to hear from you and looking forward to catching up and perhaps hearing a bit of your story, too.

    Much love,

    Blane

    Reply
  • […] Heather McHolm checks in […]

    Reply
  • 39. Peter de Reuck  |  July 8, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Questions..questions. I notice by reading through the many letters on the site that nothing is ever mentioned of ‘Jacko’ Short and family, during my 8 year stay at St Georges [ 1948 / 55.] I had such respect for this man.. so many memories ‘stand out’. wow that being 54 years ago.. as for headmaster Mr Strong…..enough said. Have just recently turned 70 but still have such good memories of my stay in S,G,H,…..Firstly schooled in the home classrooms [ principal..Mr Wilson] then moved into the newly build Wychwood primary school then off to Malvern high…[ prindipal Mr morrison..]. You see memory not to bad . Regards to all and do keep well. God bless. Peter.

    Reply
  • 40. Manuel Joao Simoes  |  July 10, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Greeting All

    I was wondering about SGH before my time. Can anybody inform me as what the “rebellion was all about and what was the outcome?? Should make for some interesting reading.

    Reply
  • 41. Anon  |  August 3, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Hi All

    A good thing that they that is the authorities closed the place. Nothing but misery out of the place. Most would say it was with the best of intentions but then again we all know were the best of intentions lead. And for those who don’t staight to hell.

    I will never forget the absolute terror I felt in the time I was incarserated. Good memories ?? maybe for the few but not most.

    Reply
  • 42. anon  |  August 16, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I must agree with the sentiments of Anon above. No doubt some may disagree but they will be ´the few and not the most’.

    Reply
  • 43. peter karam  |  August 17, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    A great place for a kid to grow up. I think there is a book to rival “Spud” in here somewhere.

    Reply
  • 44. John Rossouw  |  August 20, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Great idea Peter perhaps you can encourage contributions from old biys which I can collate

    Reply
  • 45. anon  |  August 21, 2009 at 7:10 am

    It was NOT a great place for a kid to grow up. A great place for a kid to grow up has a caring/nurturing/loving environment. That of SGH was, indeed, the very opposite. And the only book to adequately describe the stories of the hundreds of boys who passed through the place can only be a tragedy – certainly not the arrant nonsense suggested above.

    Reply
  • 46. Peter de Reuck  |  August 22, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    ‘To all S.G.H. old boys where ever you may be..’Good on ya’, all keep well and God bless. From Peter ..[ way ”down under”…Oz. Queensland.

    Reply
    • 47. Frank Barry Kruger  |  October 7, 2009 at 6:16 am

      Wow, I’m so sorry to see persons bitter after the fact. They were helped with a roof over their head, food, education and much more. SGH was no different to any boarding establishment. Nobody in a family environment could afford what we had: soccer, cricket, Band, extra lessons free. Guys, no regrets. Look at it as character building. How you use it is up to you – positive or negative.

      I’ve been in a wheelchair for 23 years – quadriplegic. I have 4 kids: 15, 15, 12 and 4 and the best wife in the world. Live with a 90% / 10% principal: 10% you can’t change. 90% is caused by your own reaction to a situation – positive or negative.

      Regards to all,

      Frank

      Peter: Frank Kruger here – Grant’s brother. You two were mates in Simpson and Smuts House.

      Heather: Frank Kruger from Taylor house. Don’t know if you remember me. Jog your memory – I used to ride Finger at horse riding. Hope you are well.

      Hi, Gavin. Frank here. Where are you living?

      Carlos, Frank here. Hope you are well. Where are you?

      Reply
      • 48. Peter de Reuck  |  October 9, 2009 at 9:40 am

        II am 70 years old and to this day do not regret for a single moment the years spent at ”goggies”. [ 1948 to 1955. ]…..To all you old boy’s……a big ‘howzit’ and do all keep well where ever you may be. …God Bless……… Peter deReuck. [ over and out..]

  • 49. anon  |  September 6, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    What a surprise! Was watching a kiddies movie, called `The Sorcerer´s Apprentice, starring Robert Davi (as Merlin) and Kelly Le Brock (as Morgana), and I nearly fell off my chair (ok, I did). Why? Because it featured St Georges (and Wits University) in its setting. Produced in 2001.
    Last line of dialogue has Ben (the kiddy character) saying (on the road alongside the Parade Ground and looking towards Spackman House): “I like this place. It´s magical”
    Unfortunately (or should I say, fortunately), Ben, not being a Home Boy, had no idea how wrong he was.

    Reply
  • 50. Karl Baksai  |  March 28, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Hi All
    I was in Crawford Hse from 74 to 77. I cant recall too much from those days but I did enjoy my time there except the first year becoming acclimatised. If anybody remembers me I am on Facebook as well. Who remembers the housemasters we had? Laughton and then Birdie.. My email is karlb@lavabit,com

    Reply
  • 51. john rossouw  |  March 31, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Hi Karl
    John Rossouw here
    Check out the SGH FB page as well as the blog linked to this album for more info
    Tubby pased away last year and Bird left the home in 76
    I remeber you well as I was in Tay;or House around the same time

    Kind regards

    John

    Reply
  • 52. Allan Chrystal  |  April 4, 2010 at 5:44 am

    I was in Simpson House when Mr Harper, the man in charge, died of heart problems. He looked to be about 40 at the time.

    Reply
  • 53. Hugh Nicholl  |  July 26, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I was in Simpson House and then Beaton House from 1942 to 1950
    Headmaster: Rev. Jack Short. Housemasters: Mrs Mc Holm then Lawence Capener

    Reply
  • 54. kevin hawes  |  August 1, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Good day all

    I have great memorial about my time at St George

    Kevin Hawes
    Simpons House
    Crawford House
    1974 to 1978

    John Hawes (pass on) r.i.p
    Smuts House
    1968 to 1972

    Pat Hawes
    Taylor House
    1965 to 1969

    Reply
  • 55. tom julyan  |  August 4, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    hi all,as a “old boy” i want to have my say about sghfb. my dad passed away in 1953 .I arrived at the home after dark and installed in a dorm at Simpson House. My mother had spoken to the house master (aka Puma pipe) that i walked in my sleep! I awoke later to find i had been roped to my bed buy the lads from my dorm Ha Ha! The next morning as i got up, iwas told my mother was at the pavilion down from Simpson house and waiting for me! jumping out of bed i made a beeline down the hill ,halfway there i heard a noise from Simpson house looking back i saw a thousand faces at every window bent over with glee!
    Getting used to the army style life was diffrent -bugle call get up get food -go to sleep! Whitchwood school was where we were schooled .a box of brown bread sandwitches were sent over from the home for first break.The other kids were always asking ,why do you always ware karki ,why do you always ware sandles?
    Back at the home life was a mix of strict times(wash sweep clean windows but at other times you were just let loose! You were told you were due to see the dentist,after school you made your way from Malvern to Wits dentist school under your own steam !got there somehow.
    The home having boys from std1 to std10 made life a bit of a challange, there always seemed to be somebody who wanted to move up the pecking order,i had many fights,and side stepping the older boys wanting to get you alone !
    The home had a camping ground at Umtumtwini South Coast
    we went by train ,lived under canvas and were jut let loose for three weeks—we stole locals chickens lived at the beach, slole sugercane and never had a shower!
    I made many friends at the home,but when my mother could afford to bring me back home i felt i was free of a prison!!!

    Reply
  • 56. Allan Chrystal  |  September 16, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Well Peter de Reuck, you and I were there at the same time although I do not recall you. I was in Simpson House in 1948 then Beaton in ’49 and finally Taylor for the last 3 years. However you have mentioned names that I remember well. Take care ya’ hear!

    Reply
  • 57. Trevor van reenen  |  September 25, 2011 at 8:25 am

    I was in the home during the 60s and i have nothing but wonderful time i had there,the different guys i met there thank you for everything love trevor

    Reply
  • 58. Helena geraldes (curry)  |  February 26, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    I used to live across the road from Sgh in the late 70’s and attended assumption convent around the corner. I got to know and spent a fair amount of time with some of the boys. Paul Hoffman, Conrad Reed just to name a couple. I often wonder how all their lives turned out. They will probably remember me as “catch a tan” as that is what they used to call me. Often loudly from the bus windows when I walked home from school.

    Reply
  • 59. peter de Reuck.  |  February 29, 2012 at 12:16 am

    I regularly reminisce on the ”Goggie” days , here’s a few random questions….Willy the cook.,who remembers his assistants name?…..Another ..in what year did Boet Symes finish his services to St. Georges?”…..I left in 1955 , then he was house master to simpson house, still minding the veg. gardens. In the empty plot alongside Taylor house , under the pine trees, there was an area kept for Pet cages , was that still around for a while ?….enough said.

    Reply
  • 60. Dudley-Claude Leslie-Pringle  |  March 2, 2012 at 4:30 am

    Every now and then life can throw you a curve ball … and you loose your balance trying to dodge it. For a moment you doubt yourself, see your confidence slipping away out the back door. You get down on yourself and curse your ‘luck’. Why me? Why now? And doom and gloom take hold of your world and cynicism becomes an anchor. We hope it does last forever, but seldom do we immediately see that the way out of bad karma is action not self pity. Well, if that ever overcomes you, remember this video.

    http://www.wimp.com/watchingthis/

    I received it this morning from my business partner in an email with the words: If you only open one email today … let it be this one. It is only 4 minutes long and you owe it to yourself.

    It is inspiration in its purest form … by example … not words alone.

    Dudley.

    Reply
  • 61. treasure11  |  March 14, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    hi there this is trevor van ttrevor

    Reply
  • 62. treasure11  |  March 14, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    hi there,this is trevor van reenen i am looking for paul de lange,cris watson,michael jones,billy moore,if you do please let know on this site,i live in somerset uk thanks trevor

    Reply
  • 63. Walter Botes  |  September 10, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Hi All,
    This is Walter Botes, My brothers were Boots, Andrew Botes, and my late brother Mark Botes, Joined 1968 left 1972. Im glad to have contacted John Rossouw who put me in touch. Will visit this site more
    Sad I didnt know of Father Richardsons birthday, would like to have been there to see the boys
    Greetings

    Reply
    • 64. Andrew Main  |  December 19, 2019 at 9:45 pm

      Beautiful! I think I remember you, Trevor. Andrew Main.👍

      Reply
  • 65. peter de Reuck  |  September 11, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Hi, how are you all?. I have come across an old photograph of Simpson house ” Class of 1948” . Peter harper as our house master. Please , some advise on where to upload Keep well and ”Gud on ya”….

    Reply
    • 66. Br. Blane Frederik BSG  |  September 11, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Hi, Peter. You can send high-resolution jpegs to me at bvpr@mac.com. I’ll be happy to upload them. Your descriptions of names and places is welcome, too.

      Reply
      • 67. peter de Reuck  |  September 16, 2012 at 8:46 am

        Hi Blane …sorry for the belated reply , will forward the photograph ASAP…experiencing a few problems in this regard . Do keep well ,…. peter de Reuck.

  • 68. peter de Reuck  |  October 11, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Hi…In my stay at ”Goggies” , late 1947 to 1955 there were’nt very many lady folk living -in Other than Jacko’s family …wife and two daughters Allison and Janet. Robby Robsons family, wife and daughter Jennefer , Peter Harpers wife Joan and lastly Ken McHolm and wife…..Oh , of course the lady nurse in the infermary and the woman that issued clean clothing thats about it . As for masters ..Jacko short[ later that man strong ] , Peter Harper , Boet Symes, Burny moss, Rob. Robson , Ken Mc holm [ relief].., and ”Kaffir” Jones . Oh yes at a later stage , a stand in gut by the name of Arbuckle ,,,,Wow , hows that memory for a guy well in his 70’s . Gotta go, you guys keep well and ”vasByt”. Talk again soon.

    Reply
  • 69. Frank Pearse (now Wingate-Pearse)  |  January 20, 2013 at 10:05 am

    Is there a reunion planned for this year and if so what date?
    Frank Pearse

    Reply
    • 70. Walter Botes  |  January 22, 2013 at 7:52 am

      Hi, Good question, I would also like to know. Its a good idea to have one. Walter Botes, 1968 until 1972

      Reply
  • 71. Dudley-Claude Leslie-Pringle  |  January 23, 2013 at 5:58 am

    Sorry to interrupt the good vibes fellas, but it falls to me to play the role of Cassandra. To reach as many of my family and friends … and my brothers in SGH are included in both … I would be failing in that function if I did not bring this most vital information to your eyeballs.
    Read and act on accordingly. It’s your world and your life and this story concisely summarizes what you can expect from it, if you expect to attend another Old Boy’s reunion

    http://www.alternet.org/environment/myth-human-progress

    Dudley Pringle – 1955 to 1959

    Reply
  • 72. David Smyth  |  April 20, 2013 at 7:01 am

    My father, John William Smyth, was at St. George’s in about 1920. His younger brother, Charles Smyth, also was there. My father had good memories of the place but my Uncle did not, for some reason.
    I live in Perth, Western Australia, and wonder if there is any archival material I can access about that time?
    David Smyth

    Reply
  • 73. Michael Buckley  |  May 5, 2013 at 6:51 am

    Hi from the Buckley”s . Peter and Michael We are both alive and well and reside in the West Rans. I have very recently been in contact with Brian Van Loggerenberg and Bernie Spuy. Oh not to forget Roelf Meiyer (Spelling)

    Reply
    • 74. Andrew Main  |  December 19, 2019 at 9:49 pm

      I have wonderful memories of you guys. Thanks. Andrew Main

      Reply
  • 75. ageless male mayo clinic  |  June 30, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    ageless male mayo clinic

    SGH on Facebook | Saint George’s

    Reply
  • 76. Malcolm Hall  |  September 5, 2014 at 2:50 am

    I am an old boy. I was in Spackman House from 1980 to 1984 with Miss Harper as house mother and Callum Rae and his wife Jill as house parents before him we had Mr Nicols. I was in Smuts house for 1985 and 6 under Mr Collin (forget the surname). Our head at that time was Mr Holm .i always get nostalgic looking back St Georges was a microcosm unto itself and engendered deep values into all who graced its grounds.

    Reply
  • 77. Ian Newman  |  March 12, 2015 at 4:03 am

    Hi
    My name is Ian Newman, although I never attended SGH, my grandfather did and could have been one of its first group of boys. He may have attended with his brother in 1915 cica. I have seen a photo or 2 of him digging the sports fields and planting the grass, also working on a courtyard and fountain area.
    If there are any records available, his name was Robert Victor Newman and his brother was “Tarzan” (actual name unknown) Newman.
    I would really like to have any information about him and his brother, years in home etc. Unfortunately I do not have the photos but as a young kid visited SGH on a few occasions.
    Kind Regards
    Ian Newman

    Reply
  • 78. David Smyth  |  March 12, 2015 at 5:08 am

    My late father was also at SGH. His mother placed him and his younger brother in the Home in about 1917. My father’s name was John (Jack ) William Smyth and his brother was Charles Clifford Smyth. They would have been 11 & 9 when they went to SGH. I would love to know anything about their time there as my father was involved as an old boy until he moved to Rhodesia in 1947. However, he never spoke to me about his time there. I know he was friends with two old boys who were younger than him. They were Jimmy Welch and Jimmy Watts.
    David Smyth

    Reply
  • 79. darrin  |  August 27, 2015 at 10:59 am

    i am looking for some people who can remember me everyone called me youngblood i was in crawford house with myls osborn he was the headboy at the time can eneyone help please i am loosing my memories due to i have msa

    Reply
  • 80. Percy Maree  |  October 17, 2015 at 10:47 pm

    One of our brorher home boy’s has died this morning, Michael Leonard Mills.18/ 10 2015, He was in the Home from 1957/ 1961.
    Close friend of Percy Maree, Richard Channer, Bobby Geddes.
    Mike was the boy who was on the back of the motor bike which killed Bryan Ford. He also got a watch for bravery when he saved a young boy from drowning in the surf at Umtintweenie .
    Rest in pease old friend

    Reply
    • 81. Nicholas Geddes  |  February 25, 2016 at 8:37 am

      Hi Percy, I am Nicky the eldest of the 4 Geddes brothers. Michael Mills and Bryan Foord were invited to a birthday party at my then girlfriend Vivienne Van Zyls home in Wychwood. Bryan was a new boarder @ SGH in my dormitory in Beaton House and was a great well mannered guy, the son of a champion boxer named Ben Foord. I am sorry to hear of Mike Mills’s passing. I remember many of the names and was there from Jan 1956-Oct 1959. My brothers are Tommy, Bobby (deceased) and Arthur. My wife Elaine and I were married in the SGH chapel by Father Richardson on 10th Oct 1963 and we recently had the privilege of celebrating our 52nd Wedding anniversary and have just relocated to a retirement village. I only have fond memories of SGH and saddened to hear of those who were unhappy there. In retrospect I would say that the four years that I spent there were some of the best years of my life. I was good friends with Norman Keyser, Dicky Allum, and also knew Richard Channer, Dudley and Stuart Pringle, Ross Dunckley, Johnny and Paul Kruger, Helmut Guether, Worsley and Nicky Tree.

      Reply
  • 82. Michael  |  December 20, 2015 at 4:15 pm

    Can anyone remember Michael Atkinson from Spackman and Crawford house 1970 1978 ??

    Reply
  • 83. Kevin Hawes  |  May 1, 2016 at 7:13 am

    Morning

    Myself and Michael Atkinson were in Crawford House 1974 to 1978.

    Kevin Hawes
    1974 to 1978

    Reply
    • 84. Jonah Herbst  |  September 4, 2016 at 6:34 pm

      Hi Kevin. I remember your brothers John and Patrick (Hawsie) . Patrick visited with me many years ago and I spoke with him some years ago when he worked in Middleburg. Have lost touch with him since then – have you contact details for him. Best regards. Jonah Herbst.

      Reply
      • 85. Kevin Hawes  |  September 4, 2016 at 8:15 pm

        082 827 9717
        Please forward your mobile and office number
        Thank you
        Kevin Hawes

      • 86. Michael Buckley  |  September 5, 2016 at 4:35 am

        Hi Jonah Just to say Great to see names like yours popping up , How are your brothers all well I trust Go well

  • 87. Sandra Erasmus  |  July 11, 2016 at 6:24 am

    Morning
    My dad Wiliiam Norris was in the home years ago i need some information about him as he has passed long ago. Who can i contact for information.

    Thanks
    Sandra Erasmus (Norris)

    Reply
  • 88. Jonah Herbst  |  September 5, 2016 at 9:07 am

    Hi Michael. So good to receive your message. Brothers Frank, Rob and Charles all fine and well. Trust your brother Peter is well. Am farming in the Groot Marico area. Keep well.

    Reply
  • 89. Jonah Herbst  |  September 5, 2016 at 9:09 am

    Hi Kevin. My mobile number 0834693950 but comms bad here. Home number 014-5038914

    Reply
    • 90. Kevin James Hawes  |  September 5, 2016 at 9:38 am

      Morning Jonah
      Thank you, i have forward your number to Patrick, and ask Patrick to phone you on land line.
      Kevin Hawes

      Reply
      • 91. Jonah Herbst  |  September 5, 2016 at 9:48 am

        Hi Kevin. Thanks plenty Boet.

  • 92. Kevin James Hawes  |  September 6, 2016 at 11:36 am

    Morning/Afternoon/Evening All
    It with regret to inform you that, Paul Conrtney pass away on
    16 August 2016.- R.I.P Paul (Bob) Conrtney

    Reply
  • 93. Michael Rossouw  |  June 23, 2017 at 4:35 am

    By now I’m sure you are aware of the passing of Canon Eric Richardson on Trinity Sunday 2017. He was in his 105th year. My brother John managed to visit him soon after the last St George’s day celebration held at Bishop basin School on April 23rd. Much has already been written and said about Fr Eric and I would encourage all who read these pages to go to the St George’s Home Facebook page to read these tributes.
    Likewise, we also learnt last week of the passing of John Edmund (Johnnie) Johnsen, former headmaster of Malvern High, Forest High and former Deputy Director of Education for the Transvaal Education Department. Both Eric and Johnnie were gentlemen and scholars of a generation long past who were both quite unique and very special people, and who were a great influence on the lives of many young people who were richly blessed by their presence, knowledge , wisdom, influence, understanding and faith in their lives.
    May they rest in peace and rise in glory.
    “Rest eternal grant unto them O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon them.”

    (Please check the Malvern High school and SGH face book pages for further details. I’m sure that there will also be tributes celebrating his life on the Forest High media pages.)

    Reply
  • 94. Michael Rossouw  |  June 23, 2017 at 4:38 am

    JJ deJager, former housemaster of Spackman house, teacher at Malvern High school and lecturer in Psychology at JCE celebrates his 80th birthday this week. He now lives in a retirement home in Estcourt. He was visited by several friends as well as his family from Australia. HAPPY 80th BIRTHDAY, JJ!

    Reply
    • 95. Michael Rossouw  |  December 19, 2019 at 11:02 pm

      Sadly JJ has also “passed on.”

      Reply
  • 96. Alan Rowles  |  June 28, 2017 at 9:57 am

    Anyone know Ronald Rowles he was at St George’s 1953 to 1955. I’m trying to gather more info on my dad.

    Reply
  • 97. Donald Sanderson-Smith  |  November 9, 2018 at 6:28 am

    i would like Allan Chrystall to contact me on email donoss412@gmail.com if he is still around thank you Donald Sanderson-Smith

    Reply
  • 98. Allan Chrystal  |  May 16, 2019 at 2:49 pm

    Holy crow. I just saw this post now from 6 months ago. I should check in more often and not rely on a new comment notification.
    I’m still kicking at 82+ so expect to be around a wee while longer.
    I’ll contact you at that email address today.
    Al

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visitors

  • 92,280 Old Boys and Friends

Reader Locations

Your comments are welcome! To avoid confusion, if you choose to write anonymously, please choose a nick-name for yourself.

Malcolm Davis on Saint George’s Home for…
Alan Rowles on SGH in the 40’s: John Ch…
Roland Morgan on Saint George’s Home for…
Farah Duca on Saint George’s Home for…
Hugo on Saint George’s Home for…
Sean Magill on Saint George’s Home for…
Sean Magill on Saint George’s Home for…
Sean Magill on Saint George’s Home for…
Rolf Maier on Saint George’s Home for…
Ben Lotz on Saint George’s Home for…
Allan Chrystal on Saint George’s Home for…
Alfred Pratt on Saint George’s Home for…
tweeky3 on Saint George’s Home for…
Clint Ward Field on Saint George’s Home for…
Michael Rossouw on SGH on Facebook