SGH in the 40’s: John Charles Longworth remembered

September 8, 2008 at 8:08 pm 25 comments

Erica van der Werff, sister of John Charles Longworth (SGH 1947), shares these photographs:

Entry filed under: Old Boys, Saint George's Home for Boys, SGH.

Saint George’s Home for Boys 1915 – 1991 Photo Album

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Craig Gordon Longworth  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I am John Charles Longworth’s son.
    It’s great to see these pictures and have my father remembered.
    I live in Durban, South Africa and have a sister who also lives here.

    Reply
  • 2. Karen Hart  |  March 12, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Hi my father-in-law was in SGH from 1949-1951/2 his name is Rudy Hart (Rudolph Colin). He went there as a young boy and to this day still speaks of SGH with much fondness.

    I am tying to found out if by now he can gain acsess to his files when he was there. We are tying to establish his parentige and hope that ther might be some information in his file.

    Is there anyone who might be able to assist us in our search?

    Reply
  • 3. D.C. Leslie-Pringle  |  March 13, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Hi Karen and Craig,

    Welcome to the SGH site. If anyone can help you with your search, I am sure it will be John Rossouw, who has been on a mission for the past couple of years to gather and compile such details of the past.

    However, I was in SGH in the middle to late fifties and John has told me that very little data has been recovered from that period and of course, the prior years. So I too have not been able to see my files.

    Apparently, when the home closed and became the Bavin School, much of the earlier stuff was dumped before someone realised that it should be saved. Nevertheless, if you keep an eye on this site, you might be rewarded with a visit here from someone from the same period as your respective father and father-in-law,

    In any event, the many comments posted here, will give you a pretty good idea of what St. Goggies was like and how it affected different boys in different ways … all of it valid in the human experience.

    Dudley Pringle.

    Reply
  • 4. john rossouw  |  March 17, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Welcome Karin to you and Rudy
    The keeping of files was I suspect only introduced in the 60’s by Fr Eric Richardson
    I suggest you call 011 616 4015 and ask the COACH receptionist if they have files dating back to that era (I doubt they will)
    Otherwise your best bet is to try Dept of Home Affairs as they are generally very good
    Best of luck and hope you come right
    Ask Rudy if he remebers George Adams who may have been around in those days as a fellow bot at the home
    I suspect for memeory that the head of the home at the time was Mr Kerswell

    Reply
  • 5. Wendy Thompson/Jones  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Hi Karin. I am sure John is quite right in his assumptions about record keeping. There is one other source which may ormay not help. If you father in law was placed in the Home via one of the Child Welfare organisations that organisation may also have some records. It is a long shot at best because it is so long ago. It would be worth contact the local Child Welfare organisation depending on where he comes from. If he was placed in the home without the services of another organisation it may be more difficult. If your father in law was adopted then the situation is different as adoption records are required to be kept by law for a period of 75 years – ie the expected natural life of the child. One other source may be to see if any court records exist from the time that your father in law was placed. The kind of records you would be looking for would be Children’s Court records. Because these proceedings involve a minor child they shold be kept separately but, again, because it is so many years ago it is difficult to know what has happened to those records. Children’s Courts are traditionally attached to Magistrates’ Courts and again one would start with the region that he came from. Regards Wendy Jones

    Reply
  • 6. Peter de Reuck  |  April 19, 2009 at 2:43 am

    Hi Karin, how are you?.. I do remember your father inlaw, If my memory serves me..we were together in simpson house [ Cub house].. between 1949/ 1952. under Mr Harper and Symes. thereafter i was transfered to Beaton house as at that time Simpson only housed boys 9 to 12 years of age. Karin if this be in order please convey my greetings and wishes, hopefully we get in touch……Wow it surely has been a long time ..50+ years. bye for now and God bless.

    Reply
  • 7. Donald Sanderson-Smith  |  November 15, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Hi, I was at St Georges from 1945 to 1950 the Headmaster at that time was the Reverend Short,

    Donald Sanderson-Smith

    Reply
  • 8. Leslie Maclachlan  |  November 23, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    Hi
    I am Leslie Maclachlan. I was in beaton house from 1974 TO 1979 + -.I went to wychwood primary.
    I now live in cape town.

    Reply
  • 9. Ernest  |  January 9, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Hi
    I am trying to find some pics of my Father , he was in SHG in the 60s , maybe some one could help.
    His name was William George Cuthbert , also known as Billy.

    Regards
    Ernest Cuthbert

    Reply
  • 10. Michael Rossouw  |  January 10, 2012 at 12:54 am

    Hello Ernest
    There were two Cuthberts I think, but they were not related.
    Your father Billy and I were friends in primary school and in standard 6 (now called grade 8); he was also in the Home band for a while.
    (I think he was a buglar) but then went back into the cadet drill squad.
    I do have a Beaton house photo some where, but I shall have to dig it out from my box of memories. We went through Malvern high school together but I think he left after Standard 8 or 9 to go to Brakpan High. We were in different classes, so we never really hung out together after early High school.
    I think I remember spending one ‘outing’ Sunday with him. I spent the day with Billy and his Mom (your Grandmother?) at her hotel residence in Brakpan. She made the most delicious cakes and Billy and I shared our ‘tuck’ boxes as little boys in Std 5 or 6.
    I often wondered what he did with his life. He was a very quiet and gentle person when I first met him. As he went through school our paths differed. I remember that he smoked at one stage and hung out with the bigger and tougher guys , but I cant say that he took up the habit as I never hung out with him after Junior high school.
    ( I didn’t smoke but it was quite the in thing to do in our day.)
    I think he served in chapel and also was in my confirmation class.He also was a member of the photography group for a short while.
    He was always very popular, especially when his Mom brought him lots of ‘goodies’ to eat on visiting Sunday. I remember he had this large silver ‘tuck box’ in which he kept his sweets and stuff locked.
    Some boys however used to pick the lock and steal his stuff; that sort of thing went on rather a lot in my time at SGH.
    Please let me know where he is if he is indeed still with us.(Many old boys my age have ‘passed on’.) We were in Beaton House and Taylor House at the same time. My memory is fading but i think your father was the Billy Cuthbert i knew
    I can be contacted at
    I am a priest working in the Philippines now, but I hope to return to South Africa soon.
    Blessings to you and your family
    Michael Rossouw
    (SGH 1961-1967)

    Reply
    • 11. Ernest  |  January 10, 2012 at 4:41 am

      Hi Michael

      Thank you for your speedy reply , My father has left us in 2003 . He was a good man and always spoke about SHB. My Sisters and I grew up in Villa Lubet as he had some problems in his life.

      I am the oldest and hope that we could chat more in future as I never really knew much about my fathers pased.
      The only time I started knowing him was about two years before he left us , but as you know two years can never make up a life time of lost time.

      Regards
      Ernest Frank William Cuthbert.

      Reply
  • 12. trevor van reenen  |  March 30, 2012 at 11:34 am

    hi ernest my name is trevor i was with your father we knew him as bat cuthbert.if i am not too sure he use to box and play football.the last time i seen him,he was living in a flat in turffontein.he wae having trouble with his hand,his fingers were numb.a friend named billy moore knew where he lived.i am trying tt find where billy is,the last i kwew he was in turffontein.he was in a houee opposite the football fields at the bottom.if i can find him,he might know more about him.i am sorry for you and your sisters loss.love trevor van reenen

    Reply
    • 13. Ernest  |  March 30, 2012 at 11:43 am

      Hi Trevor
      Thank you for your mail , and yes He did box and play football . He will always be in our thoughts untill we meet again.
      I was wondering if any one had some photos of my father in his younger days, please let me know…..

      Regards
      Ernest

      Reply
  • 14. trevor van reenen  |  March 30, 2012 at 11:42 am

    hi ernest there is a photo on this site of beaton in the early 60s.your father is in there.love trevor

    Reply
  • 15. Vernon Stokes  |  July 4, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    Looking for any information concerning my Dad who was at SGH during ww2. His name was Ronald Arthur Stokes. People help. Thanx

    Reply
  • 16. Jenny Meredith  |  March 20, 2015 at 4:14 am

    Hi, I was wondering if perhaps I may find some help here regarding my ancestry. My maiden name is Davis and my late father had family who were placed in SGH either late 30’s, early 40’s. Their father was the brother of my grandfather. Two young boys were placed at SGH when both their parents were killed in a car accident. We were a Brakpan family. I have tried several avenues and always come up empty handed. Any assistance would be really appreciated.

    Regards
    Jenny

    Reply
  • 17. Allan Chrystal  |  August 9, 2015 at 5:37 am

    When I discovered this blog some time ago I marvelled at some of photos and posts. I could hardly believe it was the same SGH I was familiar with. 1948-1952 was a different era. Different times and different House Masters I suppose. Most of us were from broken homes and found a haven at SGH. I was not one of those and couldn’t wait to leave the place and did so as soon as I turned 16 in January 1953. Anyhow, why I am writing rubbish here today is because I watched a lengthy video on stress, Potrait of a Killer.

    The Professor studied the effects of stress on animals as well as humans. His findings while studying Baboon Troops struck chords among memories from my teen years. The behaviour of the alpha males often mirrored the behaviour of older bullies and some House Masters at SGH in my mind. Then a catastrophe befell the troop where most of the alpha males died. Females now outnumbered the males and the social atmosphere of the troop changed quite rapidly for the better. Something similar must have occurred at SGH after 1953. The old guard must have retired or moved on. That would explain the happy posts and photos in later years. J B Short was gone.
    Allan Chrystal.

    Reply
  • 18. Donald Sanderson-Smith  |  September 2, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    Hi Allan,I agree, Donald Sanderson-Smith

    Reply
  • 19. Allan Chrystal.  |  January 24, 2016 at 6:56 am

    Hello Donald.
    Sorry I seem to have missed your post. Maybe old age is creeping up in leaps and bounds? Well I hit 79 today so Happy Birthday to me. (heh heh). You must be around my age. Is Hylton still alive and well? He was older than me. How is your health these days? I ask because I never received any replies to my last two eMails.
    I remember quite a few faces of the home boys in my time but darned if I can put a name to them. Strange how I recall a Miss Jolly who was a Canadian teacher from Vancouver Island. Our desks were at the back of class in Std 6 at Germiston High. She was a friendly, pretty, full busted lady and I had a secret crush for her. Brink, Davies and Morris were other teachers. Different teachers taught different subjects. Remember before Germiston high elementary grades were taught in classrooms behind the Chapel? In case its misplaced my email is ajxtal@gmail.com. A newsy reply would be nice before one or both of us peg off.
    Allan Chrystal. 1948-1952

    Reply
  • 20. Linda Wallace  |  March 19, 2018 at 2:59 pm

    Hi, m looking for photos of my father Roy Pieterse, who held the record for being the fastest runner for a number of years way bsck in the 1940’s. Can anyone help?

    Reply
    • 21. Allan Chrystal  |  November 17, 2019 at 12:50 am

      Around 1948 onward Bernard Hampson won many races. The 440 yard seemingly with ease.

      Reply
  • 22. Allan Chrystal  |  March 20, 2018 at 12:46 am

    Good luck with that search Linda. Anyone who knew him must be in their mid eighties by now.

    Reply
  • 23. Shannon de koker  |  May 16, 2019 at 1:01 pm

    Hi Allan
    I know you knew my dad , you’ve mentioned him in your previous posts. Im reluctant to write his name here. He was the head boy of Taylors House. We (His daughters )are looking for information. If you have it in your heart to share even though its quite apparent from your post there was no love lost between you. I would like to know what school he attended.
    Thanking you in advance

    Shannon De Koker

    Reply
  • 24. Allan Chrystal  |  May 16, 2019 at 3:18 pm

    Hi Shannon
    Now I’m not certain about who precisely you are referring to. When I left at the end of ‘52 I don’t think there was a Taylor House head-boy. There were designated ‘Headboys’ for each dormitory so that probably came about later. As far as high schools go there were three. Germiston High, Malvern and Jeppe high. Contact me at ajxtal@gmail.com to be sure I’m talking about the right person.
    Not that I remember details that much anyway.
    Al

    Reply
  • 25. Alan Rowles  |  March 15, 2022 at 10:18 am

    Hi
    Just want know if anyone remembers the Rowles Brothers, Ronald and Derrick.

    Also trying to find some details of my dad.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visitors

  • 92,280 Old Boys and Friends

Reader Locations

Your comments are welcome! To avoid confusion, if you choose to write anonymously, please choose a nick-name for yourself.

Malcolm Davis on Saint George’s Home for…
Alan Rowles on SGH in the 40’s: John Ch…
Roland Morgan on Saint George’s Home for…
Farah Duca on Saint George’s Home for…
Hugo on Saint George’s Home for…
Sean Magill on Saint George’s Home for…
Sean Magill on Saint George’s Home for…
Sean Magill on Saint George’s Home for…
Rolf Maier on Saint George’s Home for…
Ben Lotz on Saint George’s Home for…
Allan Chrystal on Saint George’s Home for…
Alfred Pratt on Saint George’s Home for…
tweeky3 on Saint George’s Home for…
Clint Ward Field on Saint George’s Home for…
Michael Rossouw on SGH on Facebook